Riding the bus

Well, I found out more than a week ago my car needs its transmission rebuilt.

That was a bummer.

But alas, I had to do it.

I still don’t have my car back. My boyfriend, mom and some friends have been driving me to and from work.  I have been riding my bike around my neighborhood, Mt. Washington, to do any other errands. Fortunately, a library and grocery store are very close, and honestly, what else do you need? I’ve actually really enjoyed being out of the car, biking around in the neighborhood. But that’s another story.

I have insisted several times on taking the bus, because conveniently, a route goes right past my house, straight to my office. No need for a transfer or anything. Pretty nice.

I took it yesterday, and, if you are a facebook friend of mine, I posted a rant about the ride (ah facebook, the place to complain….).

A group of folks with disabilities boarded in Mt. Washington after me, and the bus driver yelled at one of the guys to wait his turn, as he was getting impatient to get on. Also, a man in a wheelchair boarded later and the driver very impatiently yelled for everyone in front, which was the group that got on earlier, to move to the back. He also completely missed my stop! Just like…drove right on past it, even though I had requested a stop. I was pretty darn irked about the events of the ride. I even emailed Metro about it.

Today I have cooled off.  I kind of regret emailing about it, because I don’t want the driver to get in big trouble.

I don’t want to trash the bus system. I know the drivers and the folks that work there have really difficult jobs, and deal with driving crazy routes and paying attention to a million things while driving. And having a ton of people talking a mile a minute on board can be distracting.

However, I don’t think it’s an excuse to treat someone like they aren’t worth treating nicely.

I think I get into a bubble sometimes, because everyone I see on a regular basis treats people with disabilities with respect.

I am sure the driver didn’t mean any harm in his interactions, and was just getting frustrated, but the ride was a wake-up call for me, and showed that there’s still plenty of work to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

