Tutoring Hughes High School

Well, perhaps the title of this post should be “Trying to tutor Hughes High School”

Hughes Center High School is part of Cincinnati Public School District. It’s across the street from the University of Cincinnati in Clifton.

Honestly, I don’t know much about it, academically. I know it’s not one of the upper echelon schools in Cincinnati Public. I know the students are mostly African American.  I imagine it has good students and bad students, just like any other school. After living in Clifton for several years and working at a coffeeshop across the street, the students never caused me much trouble. Seems like they’d come to school and bus out at the end of the day, for the most part.

Anyway, my church, University Christian Church, started an after-school tutoring program for Hughes students, in partnership with the YMCA. The woman from church who is running the program, Shannon, really wants to build into the community through the church. And I am cool with that.

Anyway, and I don’t like to talk much about my volunteer pursuits because I worry about doing it for admiration of others; I signed up to help. The second session started right after I got off of work, so it was perfect.

After we all got training from the YMCA, tutoring started 4 weeks ago. And guess how many students have shown up. 

Zero. Big fat zero.

We discussed it, and there is a few problems with the program. It’s the end of the school year. The second session is at 5:30, and what student is going to hang out at school until then? Also, attracting high school students to anything academic related is difficult.

So, it remains to be seen as to whether we’ll try again next week. 

We all had a few ideas for the summer and beyond, because Shannon really wants to get something started for the neighborhood kids, and I’d like to be involved.  We just need a good brainstorming session, lots of advertising and something very enticing to attract students.

I guess I am really not sad it hasn’t worked (I can’t speak for Shannon though, who’s put hours and hours into it!). I just always assume things will work out how they should, and I’m sure we’ll come up with something that will build into the neighborhood when the time is right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tutoring Hughes High School

  1. timothyvogt says:

    This is filed directly under the “trials” category, isn’t it, Jenny? I’ve recently thought about how to get involved with the school where my boys go in Bellevue. I am going to try and focus on the special education room, though. It’s where my passions lie. I’ll let you know how it goes. Good to see you trying this, and please keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

