Integrated Employment Series #2

Read the first part of our Integrated Employment Series here

Spencer’s Job at Local Donut Shop

job quotes

“I’m ready to move into a community job. I feel pretty happy about leaving the workshop. I’m ready to go out into the community, and prove to them that I can go out in the community. I can make more money, work more hours, have much more fun, I love that. I’m excited I get to work with good people, and bring my food work ethic and enthusiasm to the table. It’s who I am. I get to show them what I’m made of.”

Danny’s Job at his Local Pub

17201330_10154254881666791_166908248802932596_n
“It’s good here. I like helping other people. I think it’s really nice to see all my friends here. My favorite part of the job is making money.”

Erika’s Job as a Teacher Assistant at a Daycare

17308881_10154267393396791_3861961369549403315_n

“After the interview, I was thinking very positive. I felt nervous, but I felt like I had this. They called and said “Hey, by the way, congratulations you got the job. Would you like to come in to pick up your paperwork?” My job is to work with other teachers and if the other classrooms need help, I’m there. I see a brighter future for myself here.
Having a new experience come into my life, it’s like having a newborn baby. I’m happy. It’s exciting. I’m looking forward to learning anything new. Learning is the key thing for me, so I know how to run the daycare with them.”

Mike’s job at Custom Cabinetry Business

17309025_10154264985441791_2131851700743238031_n

 

Chris’ Job at Downtown Bike Share

17352446_10154274001616791_7351122522126021879_n

“There’s a ton of things to do around here, and there were a lot of things that we would love to be doing but that were falling through the cracks or we weren’t able to take care of – and Chris has knocked that out for us. It’s been a huge help for us  – it’s provided a much cleaner shop and it’s allowed us to clean more bikes and keep the quality and the cleanliness of the bikes better. What we found at RedBike to really find that there’s a ton of opportunities for Chris to have a big impact, and he has.”

Joe’s Dream Job at the Zoo

job quotes-5

When I got in it was kind of exciting – really exciting. The main job I always wanted to have was to have a job at the zoo – and now I have it. But I’m still hoping to grow. I’m hoping to learn – to get some experiences. And I’m trying to get involved in some more stuff there. They have these internships — all different kinds of internships: feeding the animals, taking care of plants, teaching kids about animals in school groups, doing stuff like that. I’m in the process of reaching out. I’m happy about being here. I feel like it’s a good environment.

 

Follow our stories and learn more about our approach to getting more people with developmental disabilities into the workforce where they can contribute!!

Instagram.com/starfircincy

Facebook.com/starfirecincy 

http://www.starfirecouncil.org

About katiebachmeyer

I like to collect stuff. But non-material stuff-- like friendships, stories, and wisdom from older people with smile wrinkles. This kind of stuff isn't always well organized or labeled in boxes, but it makes up who I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

